TVA begins the new year with one third of its board seats vacant

By Dave Flessner Chattanooga Times Free Press
Published Monday, January 2, 2012
When Congress adjourned on Christmas Eve, three of TVA’s most senior and active board members left the agency’s 9-member board. President Obama has yet to nominate any successors to fill the three vacancies.

Three retired bankers — former TVA Chairman Dennis Bottorff of Nashville, former TVA chairman Mike Duncan of Kentucky and TVA Director Tom Gilliland of Blairsville, Ga., — ended their TVA employment at the end of the year after their normal terms had already expired in May.

Under the TVA Act, directors may stay until their successor is confirmed or until the end of the congressional session in the year in which their terms end.

Bottorff, who succeeded Duncan as TVA chairman in 2010, gave up the chairmanship in November to Knoxville businessman Bill Sansom.

The only remaining TVA board appointment by former President George Bush is Memphis Bishop William Graves, whose term ends in May.

TVA directors are appointed by the president and confirmed by Congress for rotating five-year terms.